This wedding planner’s small wedding, part 1

Hi all! My 2 year anniversary is coming up, so I thought it would be fun to share our wedding story.

As a wedding planner, of course I felt pressure to create an amazing, unforgettable event with every detail so unique and “publication” quality. Let me tell you, that pressure was exhausting! Not to mention we were intentionally working with a limited budget.

After trying to do things the traditional way, it became very clear that the traditional way was not the right fit for us. So, I started over and really just took everything one step at a time, really putting thought into who WE are. From there, things really came together pretty dang well.

So, that brings me to the “why” of our small wedding. To be totally honest, my husband would have been just as satisfied if I said “let’s elope”. He is a pretty quiet personality and hates being in big groups or being the center of attention, so the idea of getting up in front of a crowd, reciting back phrases of love and devotion with all of those eyes staring at him created a lot of anxiety. I knew I wanted to have my dad walk me down the aisle since we are extremely close. From that, we came to a pretty easy compromise.

wedding guest collage

On that hot, sunny October afternoon, about 15 of our closet friends and family gathered along the banks of the Gallatin river for our wedding ceremony. It was small, it was perfect, and I wouldn’t change anything.

bride and groom with dads

ceremony collage 2

This experience is what drives my passion for small weddings. Sure, they aren’t the right fit for everybody, but there’s also nothing wrong with choosing this option if it feels like the right fit for you and your fiancé. Not sure if this is the right option for you? Let’s chat! I’d be glad to talk with you about the pros and cons of small weddings so you can ultimately make the decision that makes your heart happy.

ceremony collage 4

Watch for part 2 next week–I’ll be sharing some of my favorite details from our wedding reception!

Until then, if you’re thinking about having a small wedding or elopement, check out this fun, casual elopement styled shoot and our elopements information page.

 

 

 

Leave a comment